Color Holders | British tennis players


Representing your country in any sport is a special achievement, and tennis is no different. As well as being a highlight of a player’s career, Great Britain teams also connect with, enthrall and excite tennis fans in Great Britain like nothing else in our sport. That’s why we’ve revived what was once a tennis tradition – the LTA Color Holders program.

Historically, in the same way that a player could be awarded a ‘cap’ in football or rugby, when a player represented Great Britain in tennis, they were awarded a colour.

The reintroduction of the Color Holders marks 125 years since the first players took to the court to represent Great Britain in tennis – at the 1896 Olympics. It was developed to help recognize, acknowledge and celebrate players, past and present, who have represented Great Britain at the Davis Cup, Billie Jean King Cup and Wheelchair Tennis World Cup, as well as the Olympics and Paralympics.

Color Holder status was also previously achieved for players who competed for Great Britain in the Wightman Cup and Kings Cup, two competitions which have since ceased. Color Holder status is achieved when a player enters the pitch to play for Great Britain for the first time.

Including tennis and wheelchair tennis

From the early days of the scheme, the colors have been awarded to the women and men who have represented Great Britain. Additionally, following the creation of wheelchair tennis and its subsequent growth to become a professional sport, Team World Cup representatives and Paralympians were included for the first time as color holders alongside Davis Cup, Billie Jean King Cup and Olympic players – all together on one list.

Unique numbers – a select group of elite players

A sequential list has been created indicating when a player achieved color holder status against their peers, meaning each player representing Great Britain will have their own unique number.

Since 1896, only 314 tennis players have become Color Holders. John Boland became the first at the first modern Olympic Games in Athens, while Joe Salisbury, Greg Slade and Abbie Breakwell are the most recent players to achieve this status after being selected to compete in Olympic competition and the World Cup respectively. team world in 2021.

Key statistics


Comments are closed.